14 October 2007

Feds and provinces ink gateway agreement

The federal government and the four Atlantic provinces signed a memorandum of understanding on Sunday setting up a committee to further develop the concept of an Atlantic gateway for trade and export.

Text of the MOU can be found at the gateway website.

The purpose of this MOU is to affirm the intention of the Parties (Canada, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island) to collaborate on the development of an Atlantic Gateway strategy within 24 months from the signing of this MOU by:
• Confirming a shared vision and shared objectives;
• Outlining a governance structure for developing the Atlantic Gateway;
• Developing a joint action plan; and
• Adopting a communications protocol.