15 December 2009

Eight appointed to Order of Newfoundland and Labrador

His Honour John Crosbie inducted eight new members  into the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador in a ceremony at Government House last week.

orderpicture2 The inductees to the Order are Gerard Blackmore, Donna Butt, Jon Lien, Hazel Newhook, Gladys Osmond, John Perlin, and Margaret Pike. Alan Perry was invested as an honorary member of the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador. Geoffrey William Stirling will be inducted at a later time.

The Order of Newfoundland and Labrador recognizes individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavour benefiting in an outstanding manner Newfoundland and Labrador and its residents. An individual who is not a Canadian citizen or current or former long-term resident of the province, but who has demonstrated excellence in their field, and has benefited the province and its residents in an outstanding manner, may be nominated as an honorary member.

As Chancellor of the Order, the Lieutenant Governor presented an insignia of the Order, a stylized pitcher plant, to each inductee, as well as a miniature of the insignia, a lapel pin and a certificate signed by the Chancellor and sealed with the Seal of the Order.